Very First Felony Prosecution Under Deadbeat Parent Statute is Against a Mother

Louisiana enacts a statute making it illegal not to pay court-ordered child support.

The severity of charges and punishment for breaking the law vary depending on the amount owed and the duration of the arrearage.

Punishment may include a fine and / or imprisonment.

Recently, a Louisiana municipality issued its very first felony warrant for violation of the statute.

And the alleged perpetrator is a deadbeat Mother, now living in Virginia, who reportedly owes over $18,000 in child support.

It is anticipated that Mother will be extradited to Louisiana.

A parent convicted of a misdemeanor violation of the statute who fails to keep up with their payments and discharge their arrearages may be arrested and prosecuted again.

Apparently the statute is exerting a positive impact on support compliance.

Read more in this [Monroe, LA] News Star article: Mom owes $18k, faces extradition.